top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejaideortega3

April Update


Hi friends. I survived the fourth and last round of my Adriamycin/Cytoxan (AC) chemotherapy! Was it as bad as I expected it would be? Yes. Was I miserable? Yes, but I made it through another round again! Thank you, Jesus! At my very first chemotherapy infusion, my Nurse said, "Just when you think you can't handle it, you'll be done." She was right. The week preceding round 4 reminded me a lot of when I used to run. It felt like mile 11 of 13.1 miles. The half marathon end in sight but those damn last 2 miles (despite just completing 11), feels like an eternity. You don't know if you should just sprint it, walk it, or just die. Thank you to those that reached out via texts, phone calls, cards, and messages. I read all of them. Your encouragement and loving words helped me to push through the difficult moments during the seven days after my infusion.


This time, I learned that staying on top of my anti-nausea and pain medications about a half a day before my steroids wore out (usually by day 1-2) helped. It didn't give me complete relief but it did bring me down to the level of how I felt after #2 infusion. Unfortunately, my WBC count levels were again low on chemo day. In order to lower my risk of infection, I had to receive the Neulasta injection the next day. The lingering side effects from it remain. I have bone pain, joint pain, and occasional muscle back spasms. But honestly, I'll take that over nausea.



What's next for me?

This past week, I had appointments for a repeat MRI and Breast Ultrasound to check on my tumor. I was told there has been some overall shrinking of the tumor and affected lymph node since chemotherapy began. Although that is not the goal of my chemotherapy plan, its reassuring to know that there is no new growth or new suspicious lymph node involvement. I'll get the final word when I meet with my surgeon next week.


In May, I start my weekly Taxol chemotherapy for a total of 12 doses. Everyone says that this regimen is a cakewalk compared to the Adriamycin/Cytoxan rounds. I'm praying that's the case for me. If all goes smoothly, I should be going into surgery for my double mastectomy in August, followed by radiation therapy in September.


I also have a follow up with my cardiologist at some point next month. During my "pre-chemo" cardiac evaluation, they found out I have a congenital heart defect. It was also discovered that I have (an irregular heart rhythm) atrial fibrillation. Both issues are mild at this point. No medications needed. Because chemotherapy can be hard on the cardiac tissue, I will just be monitored closely.


Its been 10 days since the last chemo and I can honestly say I feel great. My energy levels are back. I am able to find time to walk, stretch, meditate, and journal daily. The kids are doing well adjusting to distance learning and our "new normal" at home. As a family, we are finding moments of joy while the "shelter in place" mandates are still in place. We are good. Our spirits are good.


211 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm back

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page