top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejaideortega3

Change of plans

Updated: Feb 7, 2020

2.6.2020 | | In the last 7 days, I've had a double mastectomy surgery scheduled, preop visit done, post-op meds picked up only to have the whole surgery canceled (or should I say delayed). The game plan changed. I saw both my Oncologist and Breast Surgeon this week and was counseled extensively about my recent lymph node pathology report as well as all the information we've collected up to this point. The new plan will involve 16 rounds of neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Dr. T and Dr. W are all on the same page. They feel that now that it is known that cancer has traveled to my lymph node (and likely other lymph nodes as well), they want to be aggressive in getting those solo cancer cells that could be roaming in other areas of my body undetected. Apparently, it's those rogue cells that could kill me. Even though my type of tumor (hormone receptor-positive) may not be super receptive to chemotherapy, it has shown success in similar patients. I agree it's worth the try. I agree with the plan.


I start my first round of a combination of Chemotherapy medications next Thursday. Round 1 is an infusion of Adriamycin and Cytoxan "AC" every three weeks for 4 cycles. I hear this is the heavy stuff. It's known around the cancer circle as the "Red Devil." Not only because the fluid is Red but the side effects hit you hard for days after. After the round of AC comes Round 2 where I will be getting Taxol infusions weekly for 12 weeks. But before all that, I will have a set of baseline labs and radiology appointments to make sure I don't have any conditions that will be aggravated by chemotherapy and also to see if cancer has bunched up in other areas of my body they have not scanned. Before my first chemo, I will have a minor surgical procedure to place a port catheter just under the skin below my clavicle. That port will provide easy access for the Nurse so that the intravenous chemo medications can be given instead of having an intravenous (IV) a catheter placed in my arm at the beginning of each infusion (there will be a total of 16). The port will be my accessory friend for the next 6 months.


It truly is a lot to take in. I'll share more about how I feel in my next update.



652 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm back

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page