top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejaideortega3

Lymph Nodes

2.3.2020 || Today, I found out the results from my axillary lymph node biopsy showed positive for cancer cells. This means that cancer cells have broken off from the tumor and traveled through my lymphatic channels and into my axillary (base of my armpit) lymph node, causing it to swell. It wasn't picked up in my initial ultrasound but it made itself known by revealing its noticeable size during my Breast MRI. That's

what prompted my surgeon to request the biopsy. I am told that this is a sign that the cancer is much more serious than they had initially thought. I'm waiting to hear from my Oncologist as I type this to see how my treatment changes. Surgery may be delayed, or postponed because according to my surgeon, she may recommend aggressive neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy is a treatment that is done prior to the Primary treatment. In my case, my primary treatment being mastectomy. I'm bummed because it means that the plans are on hold and that my cancer is "worst" than they initially thought. All that optimism in the "plan" has faded. I'm back to anxiously waiting on what our next steps are.

404 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm back

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page